Karnataka's eleven in Padma awardees list

Karnataka's eleven in Padma awardees list

Scientist V K Aatre, Art of Living founder Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, writer S L Bhyrappa and director S S Rajamouli of “Bahubali” fame were among the 11 personalities from Karnataka who were selected for the Padma awards.

Former DRDO chief V K Aatre and Sri Sri Ravi Shankar  have been chosen for the Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second highest civilian award.

The Padma Shri winners list includes: Bhyrappa, Rajamouli, Hindustani vocalist M Venkatesh Kumar, ophthalmologist from Hubli M M Joshi, orthopedic surgeon from Bengaluru John Ebnezar and Isro director Dr Mylswamy Annadurai, who was programme director for Chandrayaan 1, Chandrayaan 2, Astrosat, Aditya 1 and Mars Orbiter Mission. Prof Dipankar Chatterji of  IISc, Bangalore, was chosen under the science and engineering category.

President of the Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana near Bengaluru, H R Nagendra, has also been chosen for the prestigious Padma Shri award.
Though noted danseuse from Bengaluru Prathibha Prahlad was also selected for the Padma Shri award in the art and classical dance category, the list mentioned her under the awardees from the Delhi category. Sources said that Prathibha had stated in her bio-data that Delhi was her home state.

Rajamouli, a resident of Hyderabad, was considered as a nominee from Karnataka as he was born in Raichur.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)