With Jigajinagi, BJP eyes Dalit votes

With Jigajinagi, BJP eyes Dalit votes

With Jigajinagi, BJP eyes Dalit votes

Bijapur MP Ramesh Jigajinagi, who will be sworn in as Union minister on Tuesday, is the only BJP MP from the 28 reserved constituencies in south India.

The fifth time MP from Karnataka, Jigajinagi met BJP president Amit Shah on Monday where he was informed of his induction into the ministry. The BJP state unit had recommended Jigajinagi’s name.

The state leaders, during their recent meeting with Shah, also said that inducting Jigajinagi, who is from the Schedule Caste (Left) community, would help the party in encashing Dalit votes in the 2018 Karnataka Assembly elections.

 At present, there are three ministers from Karnataka in team Modi: Fertilizer Minister Anant Kumar, Law Minister D V Sadananda Gowda and Minister of State for Heavy Industries G M Siddeshwara.

The veteran politician was elected thrice to the Karnataka Assembly and held home, excise, social welfare and revenue portfolios.  The 64-year-old BJP leader was first elected to the Assembly in 1983 and was elected to the 12th Lok Sabha in 1998 by defeating B Shankaranand of the Congress.

Jigajinagi also served as member in several Parliamentary Standing Committees, including those on home affairs, commerce, food and consumer affairs, human resources, defence, and external affairs.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)