Warriors drub Rockstars

Cricket Karnataka Premier League : Hoysala scores unbeaten 89 as Mysuru ease to 113-run victory
Last Updated 18 September 2016, 19:21 IST

The sun blazing away to glory and pleasant wind blowing, the settting made for perfect cricketing conditions on second day of fifth edition of Karbonn KPL at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar as Mysuru Warriors took on cine star Kiccha Sudeep’s Rockstars on Sunday.

Warriors recorded their second straight win in as many matches as Rockstars crumbled under the weight of the season’s first 200-plus total. Inspired by Arjun Hoysala’s 61-ball unbeaten 89, Warriors thumped their rivals by a massive margin of 113 runs in front of a huge crowd.

Riding on the wings of some breathtaking stroke play, the Warriors finished with a mammoth 219 for four at the end of 20 overs.

In reply, Rockstars began the chase on a promising note, with opener Rajeev H (51; 23b, 3x6, 7x4) getting to his fifty in double quick time. It was eventually Rajoo Bhatkal who ended his cameo, by bowling him with a change of pace.

Rockstars’ captain Sudeep arrived at the crease to a rousing welcome but he could only watch helplessly from one end, as his team folded for a paltry 106.

Put into bat first, Mysuru’s top order got off to a solid start. The pitch had dried up and the ball came on nicely as openers Bhatkal and Hoysala forged a formidable partnership up front; compiling an 80-ball 113, before Bhatkal (46), trying to up the ante, fell prey to Balachandra Naveen’s bowling.

The dismissal did not stop Hoysala from putting the bad balls away, as Rockstars were left to rue the missed opportunity early in the innings, when the batsman had edged SL Akshay towards first slip but the chance had been grassed.

Hoysala’s innings -- studded with seven fours, and two sixes -- was allied with pulsating cameos from K Gowtham (33 off 14 balls) and Aniruddha Joshi (27 off 9 balls).

J Suchith was the pick of the bowlers taking three for 27 from his full quota of overs.  Hoysala was adjudged the man of the match for his fine knock.

Brief scores: Mysuru Warriors: 219/4 in 20 overs (Arjun Hoysala 89 n.o., Rajoo Bhatkal 46, K Gowtham 33, Aniruddha Joshi 27; NC Aiyappa 2-49) bt Rockstars: 106 all out in 18 overs (Rajeev H 51; J Suchith 3-27, Rajoo Bhatkal 2-16, Kushal Wadhwani 2-16).

(Published 18 September 2016, 19:21 IST)

Follow us on