KSCA prez, secy and treasurer resign

KSCA prez, secy and treasurer resign

KSCA prez, secy and treasurer resign

The president, secretary and treasurer of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) have demitted their respective offices following the Supreme Court’s verdict on the Lodha panel’s recommendations.

While president P R Ashokanand and treasurer Dayanand Pai quit on Monday, secretary Brijesh Patel followed suit on Tuesday after the apex court modified its judgement.

The Brijesh Patel-led regime had completed the present term and elections were due.

The court issued a clarification on Tuesday making it clear that along with officials of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, state association officials also stand disqualified if they had crossed the tenure limit set by the panel.

Patel had to vacate his position as he has been an office-bearer for a cumulative period of nine years, the limit set by the committee.

“We wish to inform you that in light of the Supreme Court judgement dated January 2 and modified in January 3 order, our president, secretary and treasurer have demitted their office with immediate effect,” said KSCA spokesperson Vinay Mruthyunjaya.

“Our first step is to name interim office-bearers at Thursday’s Managing Committee meeting to run the day-to-day affairs. The by-laws allow us to select any of the elected life members of the managing committee to the vacant posts. We will also amend by-laws which will have to be approved in the Special General Body Meeting as and when it’s held,” Mruthyunjaya added.

Vice presidents R Sudhakar Rao and Sanjay Desai are in contention for the top post.
The duo will now brief the media on the newly installed sub-air draining and aeration system at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday. Earlier, Patel and Ashokanand were to preside over the function.