CPM state convention in Moodbidri from January 2 to 5

CPM state convention in Moodbidri from January 2 to 5

The CPI (M) state convention will be held in Sanjiva Shetty Multipurpose Hall in Ontikatte, Moodbidri, from January 2 to 5.

Addressing reporters here on Thursday, State Convention Organising Committee honourary president Fr John Fernandes said that the state convention is being held as a prelude to the All India Convention of the party, at Hyderabad in April 2018.

CPI(M) general secretary Seetharam Yechuri will inaugurate the convention. Polit Bureau members Ramachandra Pillai, M ABaby and Raghavalu will be present.

He further said that the convention auditorium is named after labour leader late Prasanna Kumar. The venue of the convention is named after farmer leader Abraham Karkada. The venue of the public meet is named after Cuban communist leader Fidel Castro.

10,000 people

Around 400 leaders from across the state will take part in the convention and more than 10,000 people are expected at the public meet on January 2 at 10 am. A procession will be taken out from Alangar to Swaraj Maidan by CPI(M)workers on the occasion. Seetharam Yechuri, Kerala former education minister M ABaby, party state secretary G V Sriram Reddy and SVaralakshmi will address the gathering on the occasion, he added.

Leaders K R Shriyan, Vasanth Achary, K Yadava Shetty, J Balakrishna Shetty and Vasudev Ucchil were present.