16,66,814 voters in Dakshina Kannada

16,66,814 voters in Dakshina Kannada

A total of 22,513 voters have been added to the existing list, thus taking the total number of voters to 16,66,814 in Dakshina Kannada.

As on November 30, 2017, the draft voters' list had 16,44,301 names. Of the total voters, 8,20,764 are men and 8,46,050 are women.

Informing the same to reporters at the DC's office on Sunday, Additional Deputy Commissioner Kumar said that although 48,145 names were added after publishing the draft voters' list on November 30, 2017, a total of 25,632 names have been deleted, restricting the number to 22,513. According to the revised voters' list, of the 16,66,814 voters in the district, there are 2,13,875 voters in Belthangady constituency, 1,94,947 in Moodbidri, 2,28,025 in Mangaluru City North, 2,30,351 in Mangaluru City South, 1,90,361 in Mangaluru, 2,16,027 in Bantwal, 1,97,923 in Puttur and 1,95,305 voters in Sullia.

"Many additions and deletions were rejected due to lack of proper documents. There is still provision to add names in the voters' list. The electoral population ratio in district is 74.41%, which is on par with the state average of 76%," he informed.

He also said that there are 381 service voters in the district.

Differently abled

Stating that there are 9,289 differently abled voters in the district, Kumar said that the names of about 262 physically challenged voters are not in the list. "Steps are being taken to include their names in the voters list. Special provisions such as ramp to reach polling spot and signage are being readied," he said and added that Braille script would be provided to visually challenged to exercise their franchise.

"There were 1,766 polling booths in the last election, 24 polling booths have been added this time, taking the number to 1,790 in the district. There is one polling booth for every 1,200 voters in rural areas, and one for every 1,400 voters in urban areas. There is a provision to open auxiliary polling booth if the number of voters is more than the specified number, and going by the data collected, another 100 auxiliary polling booths may be opened in the district. Steps are also being taken to ensure that no voter has to travel more than 2 km to exercise franchise," Kumar said.

EVMs / VVPATs check

Stating that all the EVMs and VVPATs have arrived in the district, Kumar said that a team of 15 engineers from New Delhi is checking the working condition of every EVM in the presence of representatives of all political parties. The checking may take another 10 days.

"A separate website has been created to provide all information on polling (www.deodk.com) and the public may use it to get any poll-related details. Similarly, a 24x7 control room too has been opened (1800-425-2099 (toll free) and 0824-2420002) and any person may call the same to file any poll related complaint or to seek any poll related information. The logo of this year's election is 'Inclusive, Accessible and Ethical Elections'," said Kumar.

On the occasion, Kumar also handed over the draft voters' list to the representatives of political parties.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox