Protests over fuel price hike

People burn effigy, stage road blockade and demand rollback of price

Protests over fuel price hike

Roads were blocked, slogans against Union Government were shouted and roll back of price was demanded, as opposition party members took to the streets.

In Kolar, the BJP district unit staged a road blockade at Kolar-Mulgabal National Highway circle and shouted slogans against the UPA government.

Police stopped the workers from blocking the  road and arrested the protesters.
District Unit president Lakshmaiah, Kempanna, M Raghavendra, Chalapati, Jayashankar, Sahukar Shankarappa and others were present.

CPI(M) activists burnt the effigy of the Union government condemning the price hike.
V Geeta, D M Venkatesh, H M Yallappa, M Vijayakrishna, Ambarish led the protest.

In Mulbagal

The BJP workers blocked the road near TAPCMS office on Monday to protest against the hike in the price of fuel and cooking gas.
Traffic on the stretch was affected for few hours due to road blockade. District BJP former president P M Raghunath, General secretary Munivenkateppa, Taluk BJP unit president Attipalli Venkataravanappa and others took part in the protest. A memorandum was submitted to Tahsildar by the protesters.
In Chikkaballapur
Demanding for the rollback of the prices of fuel and LPG, BJP District unit workers took out a protest march and staged a protest here on Monday.

Submitting a memorandum to the Assistant Commissioner  G V Seenappa, the agitators demanded roll back the price of fuel.

The protesters said that with the increase in the price of fuel, prices of the essential commodities will also rise which would pose an unbearable burden on the common man who is already reeling under the impact of price rise.
They warned the Union Government of the state wide protest if it fails to roll back the price.

Leaders K Narayanappa, A V Byre Gowda, Alagurki Chandrashekher, Lakshminarayana Babu, Venugopal, Kambadahalli Suresh, Lokesh, Murali, Pratap Raj, Shrikant Bhat, Narayanappa, Chikkanahalli Narayanaswamy and others led the protest.
In Gauribidanur
Protesting the hike in the prices of petroleum products,  CPI(M) activists and members of Auto Drivers’ Association took out a protest march and staged a protest in the city on Monday.

Shouting slogans against UPA government, the agitators took out a protest march from Gandhi Circle.

Speaking on the occasion, CPI(M) leader Siddagangappa alleged that under the regime of the UPA government the plight of common man has worsened. The common people who are already finding it difficult to purchase essential commodities will be the worst affected by the hike, he said.

He demanded the government to roll back the price and to take measures to control food inflation, failing which will force them to intensify their protest.
Ravichandra Reddy, CC Ashwathappa, Jayarama Reddy, Tippanna, Krishnappa, Rama Reddy, Noorulla, Govinda Reddy, Nagaraju, Narasimha-
murthy, S Krishnappa and others led the protest.
DH News Service

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0