Bihar Polls, phase I: 18.31% turnout till 11 am

Bihar Polls, phase I: 18.31% turnout till 11 am

Voters stand in queues to cast their votes for the first phase of Bihar Assembly Elections, at Bankey Bazar in Gaya district. Credit: PTI Photo

Over 18.30 per cent voter turnout has been recorded till 11 AM in the first phase of Bihar assembly polls on Wednesday, the Election Commission said in its provisional data.

A total of 71 assembly segments of the state's 243 constituencies are voting in the first phase in which nearly 2.15 crore voters will decide the electoral fate of over 1,000 candidates.

As per the provisional voter turnout data updated by the Election Commission at 11 AM, 18.31 per cent of the total electorates have exercised their franchise.

The 71 constituencies are spread across 16 districts.

For latest updates on the Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 on DH, click here

The maximum 26.76 per cent turnout has been recorded in Lakhisarai, followed by Nawada (23.42 per cent) and Banka (22.58 per cent).

Among other districts, Buxar has recorded 19.10 per cent turnout, Gaya 19.02 per cent, Aurangabad 18.46 per cent, Sheikhpura 17.31 per cent, Kaimur (Bhabua) 16.98 per cent and Bhojpur 16.21 per cent.

For live updates on the Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, click here

Munger recorded a turnout of 15.71 per cent, Rohtas 15.32 per cent, Arwal 14.81 per cent, Jamui 13.91 per cent, Jehanabad 11.39 per cent, Bhagalpur 6.84 per cent and Patna 5.96 per cent.

Union minister and senior BJP leader Giriraj Singh cast his vote at a polling booth in Lakhisarai, while former Bihar chief minister and HAM president Jitan Ram Manjhi exercised his franchise at a booth in Gaya.