Govt formation: Cong in safe zone, headache for JD(S)

Last Updated 08 October 2018, 11:38 IST

With the H D Kumaraswamy-led JD(S)-Congress government expected to be installed on Monday, the JD(S) may have difficulties in choosing its ministers as 18 out of its 37 MLAs are from Mysuru region, comprising Mysuru, Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajanagar districts. Besides, the lone MLA of the JD(S)’ pre-poll ally BSP is also from the region, N Mahesh from Kollegal in Chamarajanagar district.

The Congress is better placed with just five MLAs, two of them first timers, in the region. Among them, Tanveer Sait from Narasimharaja is the senior-most, a five-timer, followed by two-timers C Puttarangashetty from Chamarajanagar and R Narendra from Hanur.

Considering his seniority, former minister Sait is sure to get a berth. Puttarangashetty might also be considered to give representation to Chamarajanagar district.

Former chief minister Siddaramaiah’s son Dr Yathindra from Varuna may also be considered as Siddaramaiah is unlikely to accept ministership under Kumaraswamy.

The JD(S) will have a tough time. BSP’s Mahesh has to be accommodated at any cost. The list of experienced and also influential MLAs in the region is a long one.

Starting from A H Vishwanath from Hunsur, who was elected for the first-time in 1978 from K R Nagar, and the giant killer G T Devegowda, who trounced Siddaramaiah, from Chamundeshwari, most of them are heavy weights.

H K Kumaraswamy from Sakleshpur (Scheduled Caste reserved) is a six-time MLA, followed by five-time MLA H D Revanna, who is also Chief Minister-elect
Kumaraswamy’s elder brother. A T Ramaswamy from Arkalgud and D C Thammanna from Maddur are four-term MLAs. Three-time MLAs are Sa Ra Mahesh from K R Nagar, K M Shivalingegowda from Arsikere, C S Puttaraju from Melkote and M Srinivas from Mandya.

Besides being the giant killer, G T Devegowda is a prominent leader of the region who has good relationship with leaders of all parties.

So, he has the chance of being made the Mysuru district in-charge minister.

If D C Thammanna, a close relative of the family of Kumaraswamy, is made Mandya district in-charge minister, it may amount to nepotism. So, Puttaraju has a chance in Mandya.

In Hassan, Revanna is the undisputed leader, despite the disapproval of some leaders. The district in-charge may go to the Congress in Chamarajanagar.

(Published 19 May 2018, 17:10 IST)

Follow us on