State to have more science centres

Last Updated 16 June 2014, 20:34 IST

S R Patil, Minister for Information Technology (IT), Biotechnology (BT) and Science and Technology (S and T),  announced the setting up of more regional and sub-regional science centres in the state, speaking at the Vision Group on Science and Technology (VGST) award ceremony here on Monday. 

While the regional science centre at Dharwad is already functioning, two other centres are planned at Mangalore and Mysore at the cost of Rs 10 crore and Rs 14 core respectively, he said. 

He also announced plans of building sub-regional science centres at nine districts in the state, a few being Bagalkot, Chamrajanagar and Chikkaballapur. One such centre in Bellary is already functioning. 

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah who also spoke on the occasion urged the people to give up superstitions and blind beliefs, and inculcate scientific temper. 

“A scientific mentality will remove superstitions. We can make a law against superstition but they can be removed only if people develop scientific temper,” Siddaramaiah said. 

The CM also agreed to a request made by Bharat Ratna awardee, CNR Rao, at the function to grant an additional fund of Rs 10 crore to the VGST that is under the Department of Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science and Technology.
 VSGT awardees 

To encourage quality research and recognize those doing exceptionally well in the field of science and technology, the VGST conferred awards to 13 scientists and academicians. 

They were Prof P S Shankar from Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Prof V Nagaraja from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Dr H L Sreenath, head, Tissue Culture and Plant Biotechnology Division, Coffee Board, Prof K Chidananda Gowda, former vice-chancellor of Kuvempu University, Prof N K Loknath from University of Mysore, Dr Basappa from Central College, Bangalore University, Prof Imtiyaz Ahmed M Khazi from Karnataka University, Prof Satish Kumar Adiga from Kasturba Medical College, Manipal University, Dr Kelmani Chandrakanth R from Gulbarga University and Dr N K S Gowda from National Institute of Animal Nutrition and Physiology, Bhardwaj Amrutur from IISc, Amai Mahesha from the National Institute of Technology, Suratkal and Prof J C Umavathi from Gulbarga University.  

(Published 16 June 2014, 20:34 IST)

Follow us on