Dist administration gears up for LS polls

Last Updated 11 March 2019, 19:27 IST

As the Election Commission has announced the schedule for the Lok Sabha elections, the Mysuru district administration has geared up to hold a free and fair election here.

Addressing a press meet on Monday, Deputy Commissioner Abhiram G Sankar said, “Mysuru district, under the Mysuru-Kodagu constituency, comprises the Assembly constituencies of Periyapatna, Krishnarajanagar, Hunsur, HD Kote, Nanjangud, Chamundeshwari, Chamaraja, Krishnaraja, Narasimharaja, Varuna and T Narasipur. It has a total of 24,65,102 voters -- 2,34,454 men and 12,30,648 women.”

“The election notification will be issued on March 19, and the last date for filing the nomination will be March 26. Scrutiny will be done on March 27, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 29. The election will be held on April 18. The counting will be held on April 23,” he said.

He informed that the district administration has opened District Contact Centre helpline (voters helpline) 1950 to provide information about the voters’ list. The toll-free helpline will function 24X7.

“The Election Commission of India has launched an online application ‘C-Vigil’ for citizens to report on the violations of model code of conduct (MCC) and expenditure during the election,” he added.

No more publicity

The DC said that he has directed all government institutions to remove banners, flex boards, posters, cutouts, hoardings and others, which would affect the MCC within 24 hours.

He said that there are 2,921 polling stations in Mysuru district and critical and non-critical polling stations have already been identified.

The district administration has formed the Sector Officer, Flying Squad, Static surveillance Team, Video Viewing Team, Video Surveillance team and Assistant observers teams for the effective implementation of the MCC.

Aiming at the participation of physically challenged voters in the election, the district administration has arranged vehicles to ferry them from their residence to the polling stations.

Transactions monitored

He said that the Election Commission would keep a close watch on bank transactions to monitor big exchange of money through banking channels during the election.

Commissioner of Police K T Balakrishna informed that there are 987 polling station under Mysuru City Police limits. Among them, the department has already identified vulnerable and non-vulnerable polling stations.
The department has already set up check-posts at various places and more check-posts will be put up as per needs.


He said that the department has identified 1,010 history-sheeters under the city limits and 69 of them are under judicial custody. “The department has already issued a warning to other history-sheeters in the wake of the elections. If necessary, we would evoke externment against them. The department has formed 11 flying squads,” he said.

Superintendent of Police Amit Singh informed that there are 1,953 polling stations under the limits of Mysuru District Police.

“Hence, the department has already identified vulnerable and non-vulnerable polling stations. The department has initiated externment orders against 25 history-sheeters. The department has formed 26 flying squads for the smooth conduct of the election,” he said.

The police officers assured that the department has taken appropriate measure to ensure a free and fair election. ZP CEO K Jyothi and MCC Commissioner C T Shilpa Nag were present.

(Published 11 March 2019, 16:45 IST)

Follow us on