DK ULB polls: BJP sweeps Puttur; Ullal & Bantwal hung

Last Updated : 03 September 2018, 09:19 IST

Follow Us :


While BJP trounced Congress and JD(S) in the Puttur City Municipal Council (CMC) election to garner a clear majority, the urban local body (ULB) polls in Dakshina Kannada (DK) district ended with hung houses in Bantwal town municipal council (TMC) and Ullal CMC, on Monday.

The BJP fared well in three of the four ULBs in Udupi district also.

Puttur CMC

BJP romped home victorious in Puttur CMC. Out of 31 seats, BJP won 25 seats; while Congress won five, and an Independent -one.

Puttur TMC was upgraded to a CMC in 2015. Elections to the CMC was held for the first time after the upgrade. Four wards were added to the CMC during the upgrade.

A total of 77 candidates contested the ULB polls. BJP and Congress fielded candidates in all the 31 wards. JD(S) contested in nine wards, while Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI), in 3 wards. Independents contested in two wards and BSP in one.

During its last term (as TMC), though BJP had a majority, Congress members served as presidents.

Hung in Ullal

In Ullal CMC, neither BJP nor Congress, could corner a clear majority. Of the 31 wards; Congress won 13, BJP and SDPI—six each, JD(S) —four; and Independents —two.

Ullal CMC is in the Minister for Urban Development and Housing U T Khader’s constituency.

Ullal has been a Congress bastion for the last 30 years. In its previous term as TMC, the Congress had 17 seats, BJP—seven, SDPI—one and independents—two.

Interestingly, Congress and BJP candidates in ward number 16 of Ullal, polled 370 votes each. The tie was resolved by draw of lots, and Lady Luck favoured BJP candidate Rajesh.

Reacting to Congress' failure to get clear majority in Ullal CMC, Minister for Urban Developmemt U T Khader said: "We accept the people's mandate. Party leaders will introspect on the performance of the Congress in Ullal CMC polls".

The Congress would not enter into an alliance with the SDPI in Ullal, he added.

Stone pelting

Miscreants pelted stones at a furniture shop, at Kallapu, on the outskirts of Mangaluru, soon after the announcement of Ullal CMC results. Police rushed to the spot and resorted a mild lathi charge to disperse the crowd.

Bantwal TMC hung

In Bantwal TMC which is hung, Congress or the BJP need to forge an alliance with SDPI to come to power. Either national party needs 14 seats of the total 27 seats to rule.

Out of 27 wards, Congress won 12, BJP—11 and SDPI- four. During its previous tenure, Congress had a majority with 13 members out of 23 seats. This year, four wards were added to the Bantwal TMC.

BJP fares well in Udupi

In Udupi CMC, BJP swept the polls by winning 31 seats out of 35 and the Congress won only 4 seats.

In Karkala TMC, both Congress and the BJP were gridlocked with 11 seats each, while one seat was won by an Independent.

It was a jubilant day for BJP in Udupi. The party celebrated the golden jubilee of its victory in Udupi TMC.

In 1968, the BJP had won Udupi ULB polls under the leadership of late minister Dr V S Acharya. It was considered the first ever victory of the erstwhile Jana Sangh, in an urban municipality in South India then.

In Kundapura TMC, of 23 seats, the BJP won 14, Congress—eight and independent—one.

In Saligrama Town Panchayat, of 16 seats, the BJP won—10, Congress—five and independent—one.

Published 03 September 2018, 08:18 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us