Election FAQ: The list of candidates from Karnataka

Last Updated 18 April 2019, 02:57 IST

The BJP, Congress and JD(S) are all set for the battle of Karnataka in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. The state goes into polls on two dates, April 18 and April 23, as part of the seven-phase polls as announced by the Election Commission of India.

Here's a list of current candidates in each of the constituencies of Karnataka, and who has been nominated for each of them in the polls. The biggest fights to look out for in the state are:

1. Mandya, where independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh is going up against JD(S)' Nikhil Kumaraswamy

2. Bangalore North, where the BJP is fielding D V Sadananda Gowda against the Congress' Krishna Byre Gowda

3. Bangalore South, where the BJP is fielding Tejasvi Surya against the Congress' B K Hariprasad

4. Bangalore Central, which will see a three-way fight between the BJP's P C Mohan, Congress' Rizwan Arshad and Prakash Raj, who is contesting as an independent.

When you go out to vote, bear in mind that you are not voting for the next PM of the country, but just the person who will put them there: your MP.

Constituency Current MP Polling Date BJP+ Candidate Cong-JD(S)+ Candidate
Udupi-Chikmagalur Shobha Karandlaje (BJP) April 18 Shobha Karandlaje Pramod Madhwaraj (Congress)
Hassan H D Deve Gowda JD(S) April 18 A Manju Prajwal Revanna - JD(S)
Dakshina Kannada Nalin Kumar Kateel (BJP) April 18 Nalin Kumar Kateel Mithun Rai (Congress)
Chitradurga (SC) B N Chandrappa (Congress) April 18 A Narayana Swamy B N Chandrappa (Congress)
Tumkur S P Muddahanumegowda (Congress) April 18 G S Basavaraju H D Deve Gowda JD(S)
Mandya L R Shivarame Gowda - JD(S) April 18 Sumalatha Ambareesh (Ind) Nikhil Kumaraswamy JD(S)
Mysore Pratap Simha (BJP) April 18 Prathap Simha Vijayshankar (Congress)
Chamarajanagar (SC) R Dhruvanarayana (Congress) April 18 Srinivasa Prasad R Dhruva Narayana (Congress)
Bangalore Rural D K Suresh (Congress) April 18 Ashwat Narain D K Suresh (Congress)
Bangalore North D V Sadananda Gowda (BJP) April 18 D V Sadananda Gowda Krishna Byre Gowda (Congress)
Bangalore Central P C Mohan (BJP) April 18 P C Mohan Rizwan Arshad (Congress) / Prakash Raj (Ind)
Bangalore South Ananth Kumar (BJP) (Deceased) Vacant April 18 Tejaswi Surya LS B K Hariprasad (Congress)
Chikkballapur Veerappa Moily (Congress) April 18 B N Bachchegowda Dr M Veerappa Moily (Congress)
Kolar (SC) K H Muniyappa (Congress) April 18 S Muniswamy K H Muniyappa (Congress)
Chikkodi Prakash Babanna Hukkeri (Congress) April 23 Anna Saheb Jolle Prakash Hukkeri (Congress)
Belgaum Suresh Angadi (BJP) April 23 Suresh Chanabasappa Angadi Virupakshi S Sadhunnavar (Congress)
Bagalkot P C Gaddigoudar (BJP) April 23 Parvatagouda C Gaddigoudar Veena Kashappanavar (Congress)
Bijapur (SC) Ramesh Jigajinagi (BJP) April 23 Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi Sunitha Devanand Chavan JD(S)
Gulbarga (SC) Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress) April 23 Dr Umesh Jadhav Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress)
Raichur (ST) B V Nayak (Congress) April 23 Raja Amresh Nayak B V Nayak (Congress)
Bidar Bhagwanth Khuba (BJP) April 23 Bhagwanth Khuba Eshwar Khandre B (Congress)
Koppal Karadi Sanganna Amarappa (BJP) April 23 Sanganna Karadi Rajashekhar Hitnal (Congress)
Bellary (ST) V S Ugrappa (Congress) April 23 Devendrappa U S Ugrappa (Congress)
Haveri Shivkumar Chanabasappa Udasi (BJP) April 23 Shivkumar Chanabasappa Udasi D R Patil (Congress)
Dharwad Pralhad Joshi (BJP) April 23 Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi Vinay Kulkarni (Congress)
Uttara Kannada Ananthkumar Hegde (BJP) April 23 Anantkumar Hegde Anand Asnotikar JD(S)
Davanagere G M Siddeshwara (BJP) April 23 Gowdar M Siddeshwara H B Manjappa (Congress)
Shimoga B Y Raghavendra (BJP) April 23 B Y Raghavendra Madhu Bangarappa JD(S)
(Published 04 April 2019, 09:56 IST)

Follow us on