Major reshuffle of IAS, IPS officers in poll-bound Bihar

Last Updated : 01 August 2015, 13:21 IST
Last Updated : 01 August 2015, 13:21 IST

Follow Us :


In a major administrative reshuffle ahead of crucial Assembly polls in Bihar, the state government today transferred 36 IAS officers - across 28 districts, and 41 IPS officers.

The transfers come ahead of the possible visit of a high-profile Election Commission (EC) team, led by Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Nasim Zaidi, on August 7 and 8 to assess ground situation and discuss poll-preparations with state officials.

According to a notification issued by General Administration Department, 36 IAS officers, mostly District magistrate rank, have been shuffled.

District Magistrate, Patna, Abhay Kumar Singh made way for Pratima Satish Kumar Verma, the current DM of Sitamarhi. Singh has been made Additional Secretary in General Administration department.

In the long list of reshuffle of DMs, Tyagrajan S M will be the new DM of Nalanda, home district of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. He would replace Budhhibhati Kartikey Dhanji, who has been made the Director Agriculture.

Two IAS officers - B Pradhan and Shreedhar Cheeribelu - who have gone for Central deputation and IAS Academy Mussorie respectively - have been relieved from posting in the state.

In the police administration, the state government transferred 41 IPS officers, mostly Superintendent of Police or Commandant rank, gave additional charge to two and promoted one to the Director General (DG) rank.

A notification released by the state Home department said that Additional Director General (ADG) Ravinder Kumar, currently posted at Vigilance Investigation Bureau (VIB) has been promoted to the post of DG.

In the districts, SPs of Saharsa, Madhubani, Khagaria, Gopalganj, Bettiah (West Champaran), Sheikhpura, Katihar, Bagaha (West Champaran), Naugachhia (Bhagalpur), Araria, Kaimur, Supaul, Sheohar, Nalanda, Rohtas, Jamui, Siwan, Arwal, Madhepura, Sheohar, Bhagalpur, Samastipur and Muzaffarpur have been shifted while the rest are Sub-Divisional Police Officers (SDPOs) posted in various districts.

Among those transferred include SP Siddharth Mohan Jain of Nalanda, the home district of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. He has been shifted to Katihar as SP, while Vivekanand, Additional SP (City) of Patna has been asked to take charge as Nalanda SP.

Majority of the districts where IPS transfers have been effected fall in North Bihar, which has witnessed a surge for BJP in the Lok Sabha elections, but is also counted as traditional boroughs of ruling JD(U) and its ally RJD.

Assembly elections are slated to be held in October-November in the state but the final dates are yet to be announced.  

Published 01 August 2015, 13:21 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us