60% polling till 4 PM in 4 LS seats in Jharkhand

60% polling till 4 PM in 4 LS seats in Jharkhand

An estimated 60 per cent of the over 66.85 lakh electorate exercised their franchise till 4 pm in four Lok Sabha constituencies of Jharkhand on Sunday, during the third phase of polls in the state, an election official said. No untoward incident was reported from any part of the state, he said.

An estimated 60 per cent turnout has been recorded, and it will increase. The final figure will be available around 6 PM," the official said here.

The polling, which ended at 4 pm, was held in Singhbhum (ST), Jamshedpur, Dhanbad and Giridih parliamentary seats.

Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das and his family members cast their votes in Jamshedpur constituency.

Policemen were seen helping the sick and the differently abled voters cast their votes in Jamshedpur.

A 106-year-old woman, Pupalata Pal, voted at a booth in Rajkiya Kanya Uchh Vidyala in Chaibasa under Singhbhum constitutency.

Pal has been voting in Chaibasa since the first general elections, an official release said.

Jharkhand Water Resources Minister and Ajsu party leader Chandraprakash Choudhary, three sitting BJP MPs-P N Singh from Dhanbad, B B Mahato from Jamshedpur and Laxman Gilua from Singhbhum constituencies, were among the 67 candidates.

The JMM and the Congress are part of the "Mahagathbandhan" (grand alliance) in Jharkhand.

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha polls were held in Jharkhand on April 29 and May 6. The fourth and last phase polling will be held on May 19.