Cong names 16 more candidates for MP polls

Cong names 16 more candidates for MP polls

Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia. PTI file Photo

The Congress on Sunday released its second list of 16 candidates for the November 26 Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections.

Interestingly, this list is dominated by the supporters of Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Ram Niwas Rawat, Madhya Pradesh Congress unit working president, has been fielded from Vijaypur Assembly seat.

Rajendra Bharti, who had complained against Irrigation Minister Narrottam Mishra over allegations of paid news has been fielded from Datia.

Bharti will take on Mishra, who recently earned a reprive from the Supreme Court in the case filed by Bharti.

Veteran leader Kamleshwar Prasad Dwivedi, a former minister, is in the fray from Sidhi, while Mahehdra Singh Chouhan, who had once contested against Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, will fight the election from Narela.

On Saturday, the Congress had released the first list of 155 candidates for the November 28 elections.

Both the lists didn't include Madhya Pradesh Congress chief Kamal Nath or Scindia— both considered aspirants for the post of chief minister.