Disqualify candidates in money distribution row: BJP, CPI(M)

Disqualify candidates in money distribution row: BJP, CPI(M)

BJP and CPI(M) today demanded that candidates facing money distribution allegations in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur constituencies, where elections have been postponed, should be disqualified.

BJP Tamil Nadu president Tamilisai Soundararajan said, "I cannot agree that irregularities have happened only in these two (Aravakurichi, Thanjavur) constituencies when such an ambience was widely prevalent".

"Are not the candidates who distributed money going to fight polls again?" she told reporters here, adding "candidates in such constituencies should be disqualified".

Speaking to reporters after casting her vote, she said that fresh candidates should be nominated in such seats and polls may be held even after a month there. She urged the Election Commission to have a more robust and functional machinery to halt distribution of money.

CPI(M) State Secretary G Ramakrishnan said despite efforts of the Election Commission, "unprecedented money distribution has happened".

He said candidates in such constituencies where cash distribution has been reported should rather be disqualified.

"Disqualify them and that will be correct and a good precedent," he told reporters in reference to constituencies like Aravakurichi and Thanjavur.

Election Commission postponed polls in Aravankurichi and Thanjavur constituencies after what it called "illegal activities of candidates and political parties" citing alleged distribution of money and other gifts in the form of consumable items and others.
Polls will be held on May 23 in these constituencies and counting of votes will be done on May 25.

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu Congress Committee president E V K S Elangovan urged the Election Commission to disqualify AIADMK candidates in Aravankurichi and Thanjavur constituencies for allegedly "bribing" the voters.

"The Election Commission should disqualify the AIADMK candidates of Aravakurichi and Thanjavur for bribing the voters in these constituencies," he told reporters in Erode after casting his vote.

He expressed confidence that the DMK-Congress alliance would get comfortable majority in the polls.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0