Kohli, Raina, Gambhir clinch Ceat awards

India opener Gautam Gambhir walked away with the Match-Winning Innings of the Year honour for his superb 97 in the World Cup final against Sri Lanka on April 2 at the Wankhede Stadium. England batsman Jonathan Trott picked up two awards – International Cricketer of the Year, as well as Batsman of the Year honours while his team-mate and paceman James Anderson got the International Bowler of the Year Award at the Cricket Club of India.

Two other Indian batsmen – explosive opener Virender Sehwag and stylish Hyderabadi VVS Laxman – were honoured with special awards for completing 10 years in international cricket and for huge contribution to Indian cricket respectively.

Former West Indian fast-bowler Courtney Walsh won the Lifetime Achievement Award for the 2010-11 season. All the nine award winners were present in person to receive the awards worth Rs 5 lakh each and a trophy.

International Cricketer of the Year: Jonathan Trott (England); International Batsman of the Year: Trott; International Bowler of the Year: James Anderson (England); International Youngster of the Year: Virat Kohli (India); International T20 Player of the Year: Suresh Raina (India); Lifetime Achievement Award 2010-2011: Courtney Walsh (West Indies).
Match-winning Innings of the Year: Gautam Gambhir (India); Special Award for completing 10 years in international cricket: Virender Sehwag (India); Special Award (contribution to Indian cricket): VVS Laxman (India).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)