Kodagu flood victims from Kaluru take a step ahead

MLA K G Bopaiah launches the mobile shop featuring 'Yashaswi' brand of items prepared by the women victims of the natural calamity, in Madikeri, on Monday.

“The residents of Kaluru, who have been affected by the natural calamity in Kodagu, have utilised the opportunities to achieve self-reliance,” said MLA K G Bopaiah.

He was speaking after launching the van featuring the ‘Yashaswi’ brand products by the women victims of Kodagu natural calamity, in Madikeri, on Monday.

The initiative was taken up by Project Coorg of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan.

The MLA meanwhile lauded the initiative by Kodava Koota of America for supporting the cause.

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Kodagu unit president, K S Devaiah said that the villagers of Kaluru hit by natural calamity have overcome the mental trauma and now are moving in the path of success. This has inspired victims from other villagers.

Writer Nagesh Kaluru said that the natural disaster which took place in Kodagu last year was unfortunate. The people should not be taken aback but should try to come out of the mental trauma by reshaping their lives. “The women victims of the natural calamity were provided with training in the preparation of spices. The women were earlier involved with agricultural and plantation labour.”

Kodava Koota President Konganda Jine who spoke through video conference from America said that the vehicle is sponsored by Kodava Koota, USA. The organisation is committed to providing the necessary support to the women affected by the natural calamity.

The women will get a lot of mental support through the project. The van carries various products such as spices, coffee and honey to various parts of the district.

The Kodava Koota has come up with another programme, ‘Clean and Green Coorg’, to plant saplings in the villages affected by the flash floods and landslides. Apart from this, 15 computers have been provided to the students of Sai Shankara school, Ponnampe, by Kodava Koota, Jina added.

Project Coorg Chairman Balaji Kashyap, directors K S Ramesh Holla, Vedamurthy, M E Chinnappa, Nayana Kashyap, H T Anil, Gauri Kashyap and Omkareshwara Temple president Puliyanda Jagadish were present among others.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)