Mysore varsity approves flexible choice-based credit system

PG depts can implement FCBCS from academic year 2017-18

The postgraduate departments in the University of Mysore (UoM), Manasagangotri campus, will adopt Flexible Choice Based Credit System (FCBCS) and Continuous Assessment Grading Pattern (CAGP) from the academic year 2017-18.

Academic Council members agreed upon introducing the pattern during the third general meeting chaired by UoM Vice Chancellor K S Rangappa at Crawford Hall here on Saturday.

Professor of Computer Science and Chief Nodal Officer for Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) Regulations P Nagabhushan said FCBCS and CAGP are exclusively for postgraduate degree programmes and follow the University Grants Commission (UGC) norms. He said that adoption of the new scheme is not mandatory for all departments.

With the introduction of the new scheme more number of departments will be able to create a hassle-free academic environment. The salient features of the scheme include academic freedom for departments in running master degree programmes in terms of teaching, learning and assessment of learners and also have different regulations for PG courses run in the departments from generalised regulations, which are now applicable to master degree programmes run in affiliated colleges. The process of assessing a learner continuously shall fully be the responsibility of faculty members who offer the course in the department.

The formative assessment will have three continuous components. Each assessment component should not be merely test-dominant but should be based on problem-solving, practicals, mini project work, case study, discussions, assignment and seminars. The performance of the learner in each component of 20% should be made known to the learner once in every 35-40 days.

The requirement for additional non-teaching staff and administrative staff for creating hassle-free academic environment in the department should be marginal. The parent departments in Manasagangotri campus should be able to take the decision regarding inclusion of their respective satellite departments in satellite campuses into this scheme or to defer them from inclusion till they acquire suitable infrastructure.

The overall ledger per candidate after the successful completion of stipulated credits will be sent to the office of the Registrar (Evaluation) for issue of consolidated transcript. At present, departments such as Biotechnology, Physics, Genetics and Genomics, Computer Application (MCA), English, Bio-chemistry, Statistics, Organic Chemistry, Chemistry, School of Foreign Languages, Sugar Technology department and Mathematics have come forward to adopt the new scheme.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)