Polling peaceful in Kodagu, Chikkamagaluru districts

The zilla and taluk panchayat elections held in Kodagu and Chikkamagaluru districts were peaceful on Saturday.

The polling received a lukewarm response in plateau region in Chikkamagaluru district till afternoon.

Twenty-three per cent polling was recorded at Karthikere in Kuruvangi zilla panchayat constituency at 11 am. The polling percentage similar at Kalasapura in Ambale constituency at 11.30 am.

A 95-year-old Jayamma was carried to the polling booth by her son Siddalingappa at Pillenahalli.

The labourers left for their work after exercising their franchise in Malnad. The political parties had even arranged vehicles to ferry the voters to the polling booths at a few places.

District Congres Committee President D L Vijaykumar exercised his franchise at Balegadde polling station.

Report from Kodagu

Elections were held in 29 zilla panchayat and 50 taluk panchayat constituencies in Kodagu district.

A total of 117 candidates are contesting in the zilla panchayat election and 169 candidates are in the fray in taluk panchayat election.

Technical glitch was experienced was an elctronic voting machine at Athooru polling station at Somwarpet taluk. There was brisk polling since morning in the district.
Women and men were seen standing in long queues to exercise their franchise at Kedakal, Suntikoppa, Guddehosur, Nanjarayapatna, Kambibane, Chettalli, Nelyahudikeri, Siddapura, Ammathi, Moornadu, Mekeri and other areas.

Ninety-six-year-old Ponnamme arrived to exercise her franchise at Kedakal polling station.

Krithika, who excercised her franchise for the first time at Suntikoppa, said, “I am feeling happy that I have excercised my franchise for the first time. Voting is a sacred right.” Jayalakshmi, a first-time voter, expressed similar views at Guddehosur.

People were seen discussing about the election in groups outside 100 metre radius of a few polling booths in the district.

Deputy Commissioner Meer Anees Ahmmed visited Kadagadalu, Abhyathmangala, Chettalli, Nelyahudikeri, SIddapura, Makkandoor, Madapura, Athooru, Guddehosoor and other polling booths. The counting of votes will be held at 8 am on February 23.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)