Prajavani Quiz Championship in Mysuru evokes good response

Prajavani Quiz Championship in Mysuru evokes good response

Prajavani Quiz Championship in Mysuru evokes good response

N Abhay and Vashista of Maharshi Public School emerged winners in the Prajavani Quiz Championship (Mysuru Zone), hosted by The Printers (Mysore) Private Limited (TPML), publishers of Deccan Herald, Prajavani, Sudha and Mayura, here, on Monday. They qualified to participate in the finals of the championship, scheduled to be held in Bengaluru on January 24.

The championship, which saw a total of 276 teams from Mysuru, Mandya, Chamarajanagar and Kodagu districts vie for a slot in the finals, was held at Sri Nalvadi Krishnaraja Wadiyar Hall of the Senate Bhavan of the University of Mysore, in Manasagangothri.

It was organised in association with Deeksha group of institutions with Sunpure oils as health partner, Syndicate Bank as bank partner, Glucovita Bolts as energy partner and Wanut as quiz partner.

H K Meghan and M S Arjun of Vidyavardhaka Sangha B M Sri School bagged the second prize in a tie-breaker with Thanish and Lavin of Mysuru Lions West School.

To begin with, the students and their caretakers, teachers in most of the cases, thronged the venue as early as 8 am for registration. Once the quiz began, there was enthusiasm all over the hall. All the participants, in teams of two, had to answer 20 questions, five of them starred ones, to qualify for the zonal finals.


Each school was allowed to send a maximum of three teams. The others in the zonal finals were K Jayanth and Sridatta of Sadvidya High School, Rudresh and Shamanth of JSS Public School and S Harsha and Pranav of Pragathi Vidya Kendra. Rudresh and Shamanth had emerged toppers in the written quiz with 
full 20 marks, earlier.


Deputy Commissioner D Randeep, who distributed the prizes to the winners, said, the students should develop the habit of participating in quiz competitions to develop general knowledge.

Deputy Director for Public Instruction Manjula said, the active participation of the students in the quiz championship was a good sign. She called upon the students to strive for good results in the SSLC exams also, in the same spirit, to bag the first place for the district in the state.

Chief of bureau of Prajavani K J Mariyappa, chief of bureau of Deccan Herald T R Sathish Kumar, president of Sumathinath Jain Navayuvak Mandal Praveen Jain, secretary Mahendra Jain, dean of Deeksha PU College in Srirampura H S Gopinath, circulation manager of TPML H C Lakshmikantha, advertisement manager Rajiv, Vishva from VDL Food Products and Raghava Chakravarthy and Sarthak Kuntia from Walnut were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)