Rebels hand a shocker to JD(S), BJP in MCC polls

Rebels hand a shocker to JD(S), BJP in MCC polls

Congress party workers celebrate their win in Karnataka Urban Local Body Election 2018, in Mysuru on Wednesday, Sept 3, 2018. (PTI Photo)

Both political parties, BJP and JD(S), suffered a setback in the Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) elections due to rebel candidates.

The rebel candidates were successful in defeating the party candidates with a huge margin.

JD(S) suffered a setback with JD(S) rebel K Harishgowda fielding candidates in 12 wards. JD(S) leader, also city unit president K T Cheluvegowda, who was a corporator, was defeated by Srinivas, a supporter of Harishgowda, by a margin of 500 plus votes.

It may be mentioned that Harishgowda, who was with the JD(S), distanced himself since the Assembly elections as the party denied him a ticket to contest from Chamaraja segment. Harishgowda had contested independently against JD(S) candidate K S Rangappa.

Similarly, BJP KR constituency MLA S A Ramdas too suffered a jolt as BJP rebel M V Ramprasad won the polls independently. Ramprasad won by a margin of 1,800 against BJP candidate S Purushottam.

The party had denied a ticket to Ramprasad and had also expelled him from the party. The MLA had also advertised Ramprasad’s termination from the party in a section of the media. However, Ramprasad was elected as Corporator for the second time.

JD(S) candidate S Balu suffered a defeat against M Shivakumar in Ward 42. Balu was pushed to the third place. Shivakumar won by 1,446 votes against his opponent K Devaraju of the BJP. Similarly, the supporters of Harishgowda managed to obtain the second place in many wards.