Tourist vehicles to be banned in Mysore city during Dasara

Tourist vehicles to be banned in Mysore city during Dasara

Tourist vehicles to be banned in Mysore city during Dasara

To prevent traffic congestion this Dasara, the district administration has planned to block all the entry points to the city for tourist vehicles, and instead ply Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC) buses between the major tourist spots and venues of cultural events from these points.

Plans are afoot to introduce bus services from the four Ring Road points – Hassan, Malavalli, Bangalore and Chamarajanagar, where people entering the city will have to park their vehicles at identified parking points and board the KSRTC buses.

Divisional Controller of Mysore (Urban) Division, H M Ramesh, said the particular service will be in addition to the ‘Hop On and Hop Off’ (HOHO) services, which is also being introduced for the first time. It has been decided to block the traffic with the aim of checking traffic chaos and snarls, particularly during the rush hours in the evening, when people start visiting the Amba Vilas Palace, the Exhibition Grounds as well as the venues of cultural events.

He said the services would be linked with the HOHO services and residents of Mysore could also benefit from it.

The HOHO services will have 40 buses, which will begin from October 4.

The frequency will be increased subsequently. The buses will connect all the major tourist spots as well as cultural events in places like the Amba Vilas Palace, Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens, Jaganmohan Palace, Karanji Lake, besides the Chamundi Hills, Brindavan Gardens and many other historical and tourists spots. Passes are available in two categories: Gold and Silver. The silver pass, which costs Rs 60, can be used to cover the places in normal buses and the gold pass holders will get to travel in Volvo buses.

Unlike the fixed packages of KSTRC, which will have time limit as well as spots, the HOHO services will allow passengers to spend time at each spot. The buses will ply with a frequency of 15 minutes.

Ramesh said that initially, the buses will start from the City Bus Stand connecting the Amba Vilas Palace, Jagan Mohan Palace, Zoo, Exhibition, Karanji Lake, Chamundi Hills, Uttanahalli Temple and Sachhidananda Ashram. For starters, 30 buses (25 regular and five Volvo) will ply on the routes.

Divisional Controller, Mysore (Rural) Division, KSRTC, B V Srinivas said the revenue earned during 2012 Dasara was Rs 1.34 crore, with the KSRTC earning a profit of 25 per cent. This year, the KSRTC plans to earn a revenue of Rs 2.5 crore, as there are new services.

He said the KSRTC had introduced an additional 180 buses exclusively from the Mysore Rural Division. As many as 25 additional buses will be operated between Mysore and Madikeri, five to Mangalore, Virajpet (10), Dharmasthala (10), H D Kote, Sargur (10), Hassan (10), Chikmagalur (five), Shimoga (10), Davangere (five), Gaddige (five), Bangalore (60) and Hunsur, K R Nagar (10). For the Darshini packages, 10 buses will operate every day.

Package trips

KSRTC will also have routine package trips during Dasara to different places. The departures will be at 6.30 am from the City Bus Stand every day starting from October 4 and will be in operation till the demand lasts.


* Nagara Darshini – Nanjangud, Chamundi Hills, Zoo, Amba Vilas Palace, Srirangapatna, KRS (200 km); Rs 200 for elders, Rs 100 for children.

* Giri Darshini – Bandipur, Gopalaswamy Hills, Biligiri Ranganatha Hills, Nanjangud, Chamundi Hills (325 km); Rs 325 for elders, Rs 160 for children.

*Jala Darshini – Golden Temple, Dubare Forest, Nisargadhama, Abbey Falls, Raja Seat, Harangi Dam, KRS (350 km); Rs 350 for elders, Rs 175 for children.

*Deva Darshini – Nanjangud, Talakadu, Bluff, Mudukuthore, Somanathapura, Srirangapatna, KRS (250 km); Rs 250 for elders, Rs 125 for elders.