Trust or no? Karnataka has seen 19 motions since 1961

Trust or no? Karnataka has seen 19 motions since 1961

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy during an Assembly Session at Vidhana Soudha, in Bengaluru on Thursday. PTI photo

Karnataka has witnessed 19 motions of confidence and no-confidence against incumbent governments since 1961. Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s floor test on Friday could be the 20th. 

Twelve of them have been no-confidence motions and the rest seven confidence motions. 

While all the seven confidence motions have concluded in one day, the no-confidence motions have gone up to four days to reach finality. 

The last time a no-confidence motion was moved in Karnataka was in July 2015. Ironically, it was the JD(S) led by Kumaraswamy that had unsuccessfully moved the motion against the Siddaramaiah-led Congress government. After a fractured mandate in the May 2018 Assembly polls, the two parties went on to join hands to form a coalition, which is now on the brink of collapse.  

Karnataka Crisis LIVE | House adjourned till 11 am on Friday, BJP MLAs to sit on overnight 'dharna'