20 AAP MLAs move HC against disqualification

20 AAP MLAs move HC against disqualification

20 AAP MLAs move HC against disqualification

Taking the battle to judiciary, 20 AAP MLAs on Tuesday moved a petition in Delhi High Court challenging their disqualification for holding office of profit.

The MLAs sought an urgent hearing of their petition before Justices S Ravindra Bhat and A K Chawla, who listed the matter for Wednesday. The petitioners have sought an urgent stay on the notification issued on Sunday which disqualifies them.

The notification disqualifying the MLAs was issued on Sunday after President Ram Nath Kovind gave his assent to the Election Commission recommendation that they were serving as Parliamentary Secretaries, which is an office of profit, between March 13, 2015 and September 8, 2016.

The AAP MLAs, who had rushed to the High Court seeking immediate stay on the EC recommendation, had on Monday withdrawn their previous petition as the President had already given his assent.

If the AAP MLAs do not get relief from the High Court or Supreme Court, Delhi will go for bypolls in these 20 seats. It will be an acid test for the AAP as it would be difficult for the party to retain all the seats.

For the main parties AAP, Congress and BJP, the results in such a "mini-election" would help them assess their position in the national capital.

Congress is hoping to open their account in the 70-member Assembly while BJP will try to improve their numbers from the existing 4 MLAs.