Vinay Kumar, Vijay recalled; Sachin rested

The senior national selection committee, which met here on Tuesday under the chairmanship of K Srikkanth, also left out dashing opener Virender Sehwag, who will tend to a ‘minor’ injury along with his Delhi mates Gautam Gambhir and Ishant Sharma. Another Delhi opener, the left-handed Shikhar Dhawan, has made the cut after being in the fringes for a considerable time.

Yuvraj Singh, left out of the Test squad, has managed to retain his one-day place as has middle-order batsman Rohit Sharma. Yuvraj, who led India Blue to the title in the Challenger Series, scored a princely 39 runs from three matches while Rohit managed 85 from three ties. Dinesh Kaarthick and paceman Abhimanyu Mithun, who were part of the side in the Sri Lankan tri-series, miss out while left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha has been rested from the side.

For Vinay and Vijay, this marks the return to the one-day fold for the first time since they were part of the second-string squad for the tri-series in Zimbabwe in June.

The squad: M S Dhoni (capt), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Sourab Tiwary, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, R Vinay Kumar.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)