India to field 15-member cycling squad for Asian Games

Last Updated 25 October 2010, 15:32 IST

The CFI picked a trimmed nine men and six women team for the Nov 12-27 event compared to the 27 cyclists it fielded in the recently concluded Commonwealth Games. The Indian cyclists failed to win a medal at the Delhi Games and will have an opportunity to redeem themselves as the competition will not be of the level of the Delhi Games.

O. Bikram Singh, the bronze medallist at the 2010 Asian Cup earlier this year, will be India's best bet for a medal in the men's event while Mahita Mohan is expected to spring a surprise in the women's category.

CFI assistant secreatry V.N Singh said the team has a realistic chance of winning a medal each in both the categories.

"We will not have to compete with mighty strong teams like Australia and England there. Bikram won a medal in Japan and there is no reason why he cannot replicate the medal-winning performance. Mahita and veteran Rameshwari Devi have a good chance of a podium finish in the women's event," Singh told IANS.

The training camp for the cyclists is scheduled in New Delhi from Oct 27.

The squad:
Men: O Bikram Singh, Dayala Ram Saran, Satbir Singh, Sombir, Vinod Malik, Atul Kumar, Amrit Singh, Prince HS Hylen and Rajender Bishoni.

Women: Ch. Rameshwori Devi, Y Sunita Devi, Pana Chowdury, Rejani V, Mahita Mohan, Suchitra Devi.
Coaches: Grahm Seers     (foreign coach), Chayan Choudary and Ruma Chatopahya.

(Published 25 October 2010, 15:32 IST)

Follow us on