Schoolchildren dance their way to glory

Schoolchildren dance their way to glory

Indiranagar Nursery and Primary School, Christ Academy emerge winners

SHALL WE DANCE: Students of Indiranagar Nursery and Primary School performing at the DHiE dance fest organised by the Deccan Herald at Bal Bhavan in Bangalore on Wednesday. DH Photo

In the senior category the performances that stood out were the Dasavathara by Christ Academy, Mata Durga, a fusion of Bharatnatyam, Kathak and western dance forms by Sri Sri Ravishankar Vidyamandir, a flok dance by Sri Vivekananda Vidya Kendra and a folk dance from Tamil Nadu by the students of KV, DRDO.

Eye catching among the performances among juniors were the Koramangala NPS troupe’s dance set to the Shankar Mahadevan composition ‘Breathless,’on the theme of conserving heritage. HAL Public School’s dance  to a melodious Bengali number, Jubilee Primary School’s traditional Kerala folk dance which is performed during Navratri, Royal Concorde International School’s Maharashtrian fishermen dance, ‘Koliya naach’ and Indiranagar Nursery and Primary School’s adaptation of the ‘Krishna Leela’ were also notable. Most of the schools in this category chose the harvest as the theme for their dance.. The top prize among seniors in Zone C naturally went to the Christ Academy troupe, while the Kendriya Vidyalaya, DRDO and Sri Sri Ravishankar Vidyamandir picked up the second and third prizes  respectively.

In the junior category, Indiranagar Nursery and Primary School, Amarjyoti Primary School and Royal Concorde International School bagged the top three prizes respectively.
With this the three-day DHiE inter-school dance competition came to a conclusion. The competition was conducted for schools in  Zone A on October 20, in Zone B on October 21, and for Zone C on Wednesday.  

The first, second and thrid prizes in the junior category for Zone A went to Carmel Higher Primary School, Aurobindo Memorial School and Mahila Seva Samaj and for senior category it went to Oxford English High School, St Lufrasius School and VVP, JP Nagar, respectively.

For Zone B the prizes for junior category went to Silicon Valley, Florence Primary School and Jnanakshi Vidya Niketan and in the senior category Windermere High School, Sri Rama Vidyalaya and Sri Sri Ravishankar Vidyamandir won the first three prizes respectively.

Junior category

Wednesday’s participants in the junior category were NPS, Koramangala, SJR Public School, HAL Public School, Jubilee Primary School, Royal Concorde International School, ASC Public School, Army Public School, Kairali Niketan Primary School, Indiranagar Nursery and Primary School, Jain Global School, Amarjyoti Public School, SEA International State School, New Horizon School, Hoskote, Blossom School, Kanakapura, Indian Public School and KV, DRDO.

The senior category included HAL Public School, Christ Academy, Bannerghatta Road, National Centre for Excellence, Evershine English School, Shri Shri Ravishankar Vidyamandir, Shri Vivekananda Vidya Kendra, CMR High School and KV, DRDO.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox