Infy CEO Gopalakrishnan, Ullas Karanth bag top Karnataka award

It's the top state honour and the awards are given away annually for significant contribution in various fields.

This year's list has 162 names, and the awards, which would be presented on the state formation day on November one by Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, were announced at a press conference by Kannada and Culture Minister Govind M Karjol.

Chairman of CII Karnataka, Aroon Raman, were among the winners which included CWG medal winners Ashwini Ponnappa, Ashwini Akkunji and Vikas Gowda.

The Minister made a special mention of another winner Dr. Shiva S Halli who, he said, not only got Bill and Melinda Gates to visit Karnataka's Bijapur but was also resposible for getting a Rs 300 crore aid from their Foundation to fight HIV/AIDS in the region.

Ashwini Ponnappa and Ashwini Akkuji had bagged gold in the recent Commonwealth Games and Gowda a silver.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)