Another delegation to visit Kashmir next month

The delegation includes LJP chief Ramvilas Paswan, CPI(M)'s Brinda Karat, CPI's D Raja, Namo Nageshwar Rao (TDP), Danish Ali (JD-S), Rajya Sabha member Shahid Siddiqui and film maker Mahesh Bhatt.

The initiative is the brainchild of Centre for Policy Analysis.Announcing the initiative, Paswan said the delegation would speak to all shades of opinions, including that of separatists.
"We have got appointments with Syed Ali Shah Geelani, Mirwaiz Umer Farooq, Shabir Shah and Yasin Malik," he told reporters here.

He said the initiative comes in the backdrop of the Union Home Ministry "not doing enough" or "not coming with any concrete step" to capitalise on the visit of the all-party delegation to the Valley.

Paswan said appointment of "non-political" interlocutors was "disappointing" as the need of the hour was to involve those who can bridge the gap.

"Kashmir is peaceful now. It does not mean that the problem is solved. Our delegation is not an official one but we will be meeting common people, youth and political leaders and create an atmosphere of peace," Paswan said.

Raja said it was time to build confidence of Kashmiris and tell them that the entire nation was with them.The CPI leader said the interlocutors should have been political personalities who are known for their integrity so that it gives a "proper message" to Kashmiris that the government of India is serious

Comments (+)