Keen contest expected at Narasapura

Naganal Somanna, a confidante of former minister Srinivasa Gowda, who has quit the Congress to join the JD(S), will be the JD(S) candidate here.

Somanna had earlier won on a Congress ticket from Vemagal constituency. The constituency is home to a large number of supporters of MLA Varthur Prakash and the election is seen as a indirect fight between Gowda and Prakash.

Amarnath, a supporter of Prakash, is expected to contest as an independent candidate. The CPI(M) is contesting in the Taluk Panchayat constituencies in this ZP constituency.

There is a large number of voters belonging to the ‘Vahni’ community and they could be expected to vote for Amarnath. Narasapura, Bellur, Chowdadenahalli, Belamaranahalli, Sooluru and Talagunda are the Grama Panchayats coming under this ZP constituency.  
Before Gowda joined the JD(S), Rajeshwari, the wife of Grama Panchayat member Harish, was expected to be the party’s nominee in Narasapura Zilla Panchayat constituency. The possibility of Somanna getting the ticket has upset Rajeshwari. 

Somanna has a fair name in Vemagal constituency, except the charges against him that he always goes by Gowda’s words. Puralli Srinivas, who had lost to Somanna in Vemagal constituency last time, contesting on a JD(S) ticket, is likely to be the Congress candidate from Narasapura this time. Puralli Srinivas, who was lobbying for the JD(S) ticket, joined the Congress on Tuesday.

Congress tactic

It will hence be a contest between two turncoats, Somanna and Srinivas.

Fielding Puralli Srinivas from Congress is said to be a tactic by union minister K H Muniyappa. Talagunda Narasimharaju is likely to contest as a BJP candidate.

Congress leader and MLC V R Sudarshan spoke to CPI(M) candidates and leaders on Tuesday, urging them to withdraw from the fray and support the Congress candidates.

But the CPI(M) leaders are said to have instead told Sudarshan that the Congress itself can support the CPI(M) and withdraw from the fray.

Prakash remains silent

MLA Varthur Prakash has remained silent this time round when the ZP and TP elections are being held. Surprisingly, there was no activity in Prakash’s camp, even on the penultimate day of filing nomination papers.

During the legislative council elections, he had put up Beggi Suryaprakash as an independent candidate.

Of late, he has declared support to the BJP-led government and is waiting for a chance to be made a minister.

For the ZP, TP elections, though, Prakash has not identified himself with any party, giving rise to curiosity all over.  

Comments (+)