Shah Rukh Khan returns to TV with a 'Zor Ka Jhatka'

Shah Rukh Khan returns to TV with a 'Zor Ka Jhatka'

Starting from early next year on Imagine TV, 'Zor Ka Jhatka' will have Khan taking 28 TV stars into the world's biggest obstacle course in Argentina to battle it out. In this extremely competitive environment, SRK will challenge these contestants of all ages and varying fitness levels to a series of hilarious tasks and obstacles like jumping over moving obstacles, bouncing off big balls and dodging swinging pendulums hurled their way.

At stake would be a prize money worth Rs 1.5 crores, including a mega cash prize of Rs 50 lakhs for the winner of the finale. And while the contestants sweat it out, the 45-year-old actor, known for his comic timing, sharp wit and clever dialogues, will provide his brand of extremely funny, witty and at times even a little nasty commentary on the proceedings.

"It promises to be a thrilling ride with lots of thrills and spills and I'm looking forward to being a super funny host-commentator.  In fact my children and I have watched the international version often and really loved it," Khan said in a statement issued here today.

'Wipeout' is a popular international format game show that has been aired successfully across 22 countries including USA, UK and Australia. It will be shot on a one of its kind, massive obstacle course in Argentina.

"This is an exciting association for me on many levels...coming back to television, working with Sameer and Imagine once again and most importantly, because I'm doing something completely different from what I've done on television before," Khan said.

Sameer Nair, CEO of Turner General Entertainment Networks India Pvt Ltd, said, "the combination of a super star host, bizarrely challenging obstacles, enthusiastic and competitive contestants and a whole lot of bloopers will make this show a must watch, night after night." The contestants on the show include Akashdeep Saigal, Bhakhtiyaar Irani, Claudia Ciesla, Dimpy Mahajan, Gaurav Chopraa, Payal Rohatgi and Raja Chaudhary.