German Chancellor Angela Merkel chosen for Jawaharlal Nehru Award

The jury, chaired by Vice-President Mohammad Hamid Ansari has decided to confer the award for 2009 on Dr Merkel, the Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, an External Affairs Ministry release said here today.

"By honouring Chancellor Merkel the Award for the year 2009, India recognizes her personal devotion and enormous efforts for sustainable and equitable development, for good governance and understanding and for the creation of a world better positioned to handle the emerging challenges of the 21st century," it said.

She has been sympathetic to developing countries and our own developmental imperatives and has led the search for a balanced solution based on principles of equity and sensitivity to the interests of the developing world, it said.

The Award carries prize money of Rs 1 crore besides a trophy and citation.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)