Five Punjab BJP ministers quit

The resignations were handed over to the Chief Minister Badal on Thursday evening by Punjab BJP in charge Shanta Kumar. Two BJP chief parliamentary secretaries (CPS) also resigned from their posts. The resignations follow the Central Bureau of Investigation’s arrest of one of the BJP MLA’s on corruption charges.

The move is been seen as the saffron party’s attempt to secure a high moral ground in the backdrop of its tirade against the UPA on the issue of corruption. 

The ministers who have resigned include Manoranjan Kalia, Swarna Ram, Tikshan Sood, Luxmi Kanta Chawla and Mohan Lal. Arunesh Shakar and Sukhpal Singh Nannu, both CPS, also resigned. It now remains to be seen whether the chief minister will accept the resignation or not.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)