Committee honours achievers

Committee honours achievers

Recognises their contributions in agriculture

Progressive farmers Shivaramegowda, B H Yogesh and topper R Prashantha being felicitated at a function organised by Ragi Lakshmanaiah Memorial Committee in Mandya, on Saturday. Vice-chancellor of University of Agriculture Sciences K Narayanagowda, Prof K N Ganeshaiah, Lakshmamma Ragi Lakshmanaiah and others are seen. Dh photo

Progressive farmer Shivaramegowda of K R Pet taluk was feted for growing high yield ragi. He had harvested 48.752 quintal of ragi sown on hectare   of land. Another farmer, B H Yogesh of Ballenahalli had harvested 96.7 quintal of paddy on an hectare.

A student of  V C Farm Agriculture Extension College, R Prashantha was honoured for scoring highest marks in agriculture sciences .

Faculty of University of Agriculture Sciences Prof K N Ganeshaiah delivered a special lecture on the history and importance of ragi. Retired director of Extension Centre of University of Agriculture Sciences, Dr V Veerabhadraiah, Lakshmamma Ragi Lakshmanaiah, K Boraiah, Muddegowda, Jayaram and others were present.