A recognition for new faces

A recognition for new faces

Saluting Excellence

Anticipated: Raghavendra Rajkumar (extreme left) unveiling the logo.

The award is aimed to recognise new talents in music, movies and television industries. The press conference was addressed by Raghavendra Rajkumar and Rajesh Krishnan who are part of the jury panel.

“After launching Big Kannada music, television and entertainment awards, the radio station is now all set to launch ‘BIG Kannada New Talent Award’. This award is meant to recognise and salute excellence of new talents in Karnataka. Every year, thousands debut in movies, music and television but only very few emerge successful. The radio channel is hunting for their unique talents. The nominees are chosen based on their performance in the industry from the past two to three years,” said RJ Rashmi.

Raghavendra Rajkumar said he was happy to be part of the jury panel. “The award provides a platform for the up-and-coming artistes to hone their skills and mingle with other talented people. Though I am not talented, I accepted this responsibility as this is an opportunity to mingle with great artistes,” he said.

Rajesh Krishnan, a popular singer and jury member, talked about the scarcity of Namma singers. “It is a sad thing that most of the producers and music directors don’t have confidence in up-and-coming singers. They always opt for established singers. This kind of negligence will kill the talent in new artistes. If we give more opportunities for the newcomers, the industry may become self-sufficient within two-three years,” he said.

Actress Harshika Poonacha, who made a late entry to the press conference, wished good luck to the nominees. Akanksha Badami, who is nominated for ‘Best Singer’ (female) category, expressed her happiness. “I had taken part in a musical reality show through which I got many offers in Kannada films, from Duniya to the latest release Rajdhani. I feel awards like these will help recognise the talent of newcomers,” she said.

Awards will be given in film, television and music categories including ‘Best Actor’ (male and female), ‘Best News Anchor’, ‘Best Lyricist’, ‘Best Music Director’, ‘Best Singer’ (male and female) and more. Other than Raghavendra Rajkumar and Rajesh Krishnan, the jury panel will have Jaggesh, Nagendra Prasad and Mano Murthy. People can vote for their favourites as the BIG FM vehicle carrying the ballots will be going through the City.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)