Cong, JD(S) into tacit tie-up

The JD(S) will not field its candidates in Govindarajanagar while in Chittapur the party candidate may either withdraw his nomination papers or keep himself off the campaign to help the Congress, sources in the JD(S) said.

Papers rejected

Nagendra Prasad had filed papers as the JD (S) candidate from Govindarajnagar. But his papers were rejected on Thursday during the scrutiny by the returning officer.
He had not mentioned his serial number and part number (polling booth) in the voters’ list, in the nomination papers. Hence, his paper was rejected. Besides the nomination of 11 more candidates were rejected during the scrutiny. Last date for withdrawal of nomination is August 1.

Scrutiny process of the 108 nominations filed in the five constituencies going to the byelections in August 18 were taken up on Thursday.

A total of seven nominations including that of the JD(S) candidate filed for Govindarajanagar, two nominations for Ramanagar and one each for Chittapura, Kollegal and Channapatna have been rejected.

As on Thursday, as many as 96 candidates remain in fray in the five constituencies.
The highest being in Govindarajnagar (31) followed by Kollegal (21), Ramanagara (18), Channapatna (16) and Chittapur (10).

2 candidates file paper for one seat!

The Congress has not fielded its candidate in Ramanagara! And, the party has fielded two candidates  from Channapatna!!

The above statements are true, if you go by the list of candidates contesting the by-election, hosted in the website of the Election Commission (
Name of C M Lingappa, who is contesting from Ramanagara on the Congress ticket, does not figure in the list of candidates for Ramanagara in the website. Instead, his name is located among those contesting for Channapatna constituency. The list also includes the name of T K Yogesh, the party’s official candidate for Channapatna. With that two Congress candidates are in the fray for Channapatna!!

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0