Hari continues to call the shots; Damini makes winning start

Hari continues to call the shots; Damini makes winning start

Sri Hari, who broke the 50M backstroke National record on the first day, completed a memorable double, powering his way to the Group IV boys’ 50M butterfly gold, clocking 34.35 seconds. The 10-year-old Global Swimming Association trainee overcame a strong challenge from State-mate Sanjay CJ, who took silver in 34.65.

Sri Hari also helped the Group IV Karnataka relay team pocket the 4x50M medley relay gold. The quartet of Hari, Pruthvi Gowda SS, Sanjay and Shramith Srinivas touched the wall in two minutes 31.47 seconds.

Damini started off from where he left in the State Sub-junior meet last month when she picked up four gold medals. The BNM seventh standard student and Basavanagudi Aquatic Centre swimmer timed 30.09 to bag the Group III girls’ 50M freestyle crown.

Spandan Pratik Rath (Group III boys’ 100M breaststroke), Shraddha S (Group III girls’ 100M breaststroke), the 4x50M freestyle relay teams (Group III and Group IV girls) and the 4x50M medley relay team (Group IV girls) won silver for Karnataka on Sunday.

Sanjeev R (Group III boys’ 50M freestyle), 4X50M freestyle relay teams (Group III and Group IV boys) brought home bronze medals as Karnataka stayed in hunt for the overall championship title with two days of competition left in the championship.


Boys: Group III: 50M freestyle: Saumya Vora (Mah) 28.80 seconds, 1; Rishav Nath (WB) 29.00, 2; Sanjeev R (Kar) 29.94, 3.

100M breaststroke: Omkar A Nehete (Mah) 1:19.20, 1; Spandan Pratik Rath (Kar) 1:23.32, 2; S Danush (TN) 1:25.36, 3.

200M individual medley: Omkar A Nehete (Mah) 2:38.56, 1; S Siva (Kar) 2:41.85, 2; S Aswathaaman (TN) 2:44.53, 3.

4X50M freestyle: Bengal (2:00.78) 1; Maharashtra (2:02.34) 2; Karnataka (Adarsh C, S Siva, Manish Chandra V, Sanjeev R) 2:04.47, 3.

Group IV: 50M butterflystroke: N Sri Hari (Kar) 34.35, 1; Sanjay C J (Kar) 34:65, 2; Siddharth Thakkar (Mah) 35.06, 3.

4X50M freestyle: Maharashtra (2:12.57) 1; Tamil Nadu (2:15.26) 2; Karnataka (Pruthvi Gowda SS, Shramith Srinivas, N Sri Hari, Sanjay CJ) 2:15:53, 3.

4X50M medley relay: Karnataka (N Sri Hari, Pruthvi Gowda SS, Sanjay CJ, Shramith Srinivas) 2:31.47, 1; Maharashtra (2:31.71) 2; Tamil Nadu (2:34.95) 3.

Girls: Group III: 50M freestyle: Damini K Gowda (Kar) 30:09, 1; Gitanjali Pandey (Guj) 31.00, 2; Nikita Bhaiya (TN) 31.13, 3.

100M breaststroke: Yashna Vummidi (TN) 1:24.69, 1; Shraddha S (Kar) 1:28.06, 2; Rutuja Desai (Mah) 1:30.60, 3.

200M individual medley: Yashna Vummidi (TN) 2:42.50, 1; Yuga Birnale (Mah) 2:45.72, 2; Sayani Ghosh (WB) 2:45.75, 3.

4X50M freestyle: Tamil Nadu (2:06.19) 1; Karnataka (Shraddha S, Amulya R, Pavithra B, Damini K Gowda) 2:07.63, 2; Maharashtra (2:08.56) 3.

Group IV:

50M butterflystroke: Rayna Saldanha (Mah) 36.40, 1; Ishwari Jagdale (Mah) 36.59, 2; Amita Gondi (AP) 36.62, 3.

4X50M freestyle: Maharashtra (2:17.49) 1; Karnataka (Manasi Herekar, Harshitha J, Thanuja S, Anusha L) 2:20.53, 2; Tamil Nadu (2:23.00) 3.

4X50M medley relay: Maharashtra (2:35.75) 1; Karnataka (Vaania Kapoor A, Manasi Herekar, Thanuja S, Anusha L) 2:36.57, 2; Tamil Nadu (2:39.15) 3.

Boys: Group II: Platform: Siddarth Pardeshi (SSCB) 308.30 points, 1; Aditya Giram (Mah) 279.60, 2; Rishikesh Yargal (Mah) 265.80, 3.

Girls: Group I: 1M springboard: Swati Vidap (Mah) 257.65, 1; Tanuka Dhara (WB) 209.50, 2; Rachana R Gawde (Mah) 197.10, 3.

Group II: Platform: Genevieve Atala D'costa (Goa) 193.05, 1; Pradipti Naskar (WB) 182.50, 2; Aboli Sangave (Mah) 174.60, 3.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)