Cottonians triumph in thriller

Cottonians triumph in thriller

Cricket BT Ramaiah Shield: St Josephs Indian High School concede first innings lead to lose in final

Bishop Cotton Boys’ School fought valiantly to claim the Dell-KSCA under-14 BT Ramaiah Shield on Friday.

After scoring a meagre 173 in their first essay at the RSI grounds, the Cottonians looked in a lot of trouble as St Joseph’s Indian High School romped to 72 for two in 25 overs at stumps on day one.

The Josephites’ run in the sun, however, went south from the start of day two.
Vinay Sagar (34) and Karan H (25) managed to score some handy runs for Joseph’s but their efforts were far from enough to overcome the effect of a brilliant bowling display from the Cotton boys as they were bowled out for 135 in 58.3 overs.

Kushal P (3/28), David KR (3/30) did the bulk of the damage while Jerrin Joy (2/31) and Aiyappa CR (2/25) claimed a couple of wickets each for Cottons.

In their second essay, the Cotton boys managed to score 101 for six in 61 overs before the stipulated number of overs were bowled out, and by virtue of grabbing the first innings lead, the Cottonians claimed the crown.

Brief scores: At RSI grounds: Bishop Cotton Boys’ School: 173 all out in 75.2 overs and 101/6 in 61 overs (P Kushal 25; Sanath Naik 2-30, Vinay Sagar 2-20) drew St Joseph's Indian High School: 135 all out in 58.3 overs (Karan CH 25, Vinay Sagar 34; Kushal P 3-28, Jerrin Joy 2-31, Aiyappa CR 2-25, David KR 3-30).

Spartons in semis

Sham Deshmukh’s exploits with the bat and a good performance from their bowlers helped Spartons Sports Club hold off Merchants Cricket Club (2) by one run and clinch a semifinal berth in the Dell-KSCA Group I Division V tournament for the JB Mallaradhya Trophy.

Brief scores (Quarterfinals): Deccan United Cricket Club: 221 all out in 46.1 overs (David Johnson 55, Anirudh Chakravarthy 34, Sanjoth 30; Vishwanath Yadav A 2-40, R Manjunath 2-25, Guruprasad KL 3-29) bt Magadi Cricket Club, Magadi: 206 all out in 41.1 overs (PC Venkatesh 64, R Manjunath 45, RS Prasad 46; Sanjoth 3-50, Vinay 2-50, Shankar 3-26, Shiva Sharan A 2-24).     

Spartons Sports Club: 244/8 in 50 overs (Sham Deshmukh 82, R Laxman 46, BH Jagannath 33; Riyaz-ur-Rahaman 2-56, Muralidhar K 2-26, Abubakar Rahaman 2-38) bt Merchants Cricket Club (2): 243 all out in 50 overs (Shafiz Mohammad 38, Raghavendra Kulal 81, Riyaz Pasha 30; Vishal Sagar Shinde 2-40, Santhosh Bosale 2-44, Sachin Goutham 3-33).

Bangalore United CC (2): 103 all out in 30.1 overs (Abhishek Nagendra 34; Vinay Chandra 2-23, Sajeed 2-33, Asif 2-15) lt to Jayanagar Cricketers: 104/3 in 20.2 overs (Narendran 31 n.o; Upendra Dandwte 2-19).

Bowlers Cricket Club: 241/9 in 50 overs (NK Raju 34, Nandeesh 29, Mohan 41, Manjunath 34; Sudeep 3-49, Ashish 2-39, Sriram 2-35) lt to Shanthinagar Cricketers: 242/6 in 49.2 overs (Deepak 94, Sunil 55).