Maharaajas keep their hopes alive

Maharaajas keep their hopes alive

United crash out with 13-run loss

After SP Manjunath’s unbeaten fifty (55 n.o.; 32b, 3x4, 3x6) powered them to 174 for seven, Maharaajas restricted United to 161 for eight, bagging two points from the tie to swell their account to six from as many matches.

The Mysore outfit will face Provident Bangalore (eight points) in a must-win match on the morrow to stay in contention for a semifinal berth. A win against Provident will keep them among the contenders while a victory will propel the Banagalore side into semis along with Brigadiers. Meanwhile, United ended their KPL campaign with four points.

Electing to bat, Maharaajas made a sluggish start losing three wickets for 58 runs in just over eight overs. But Manjunath’s well-paced knock and his 61-run fourth-wicket partnership, coming in just 30 balls, with Shoaib Manager (42, 30b, 3x4, 3x6) provided the perfect launchpad for a more than competitive total. Chetan William (42, 30b 2x4, 2x6) too chipped in with a handy knock.

Mangalore side needed a fine start to scale down the target. Skipper Bharath Chipli and Rohit Sabarwal (51, 41b, 6x4, 1x6) added 59 runs for the opening wicket but the pair consumed 53 balls and the slow beginning put United in a marshy situation from which they never recovered.

Belagavi Panthers (six points) will face Malnad Gladiators in a must-win game and a defeat will put the Belgaum side out of the race for a place in semis. Gladiators (4 points) are already out of the equation.

Score Board

MYSORE MAHARAAJAS: KB Pawan c Chavan b Kiran 12; HT Sudhir Rao c&b Venkatesh 0; Chetan William lbw Kharvi 42; Shoaib Manager c Janardhan b Udit 42; SP Manjunath (not out) 55; Aditya Sagar c Sabarwal b Jonathan 0; C Raghu lbw Jonathan 4; Abrar Kazi (run out) 9; Ashwath Aiyappa (not out) 2; Extras (B-4, LB-1, W-3) 8; Total (for 7 wkts, 20 overs) 174

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-37, 3-58, 4-119, 5-125, 6-129, 7-144

Bowling: H Venkatesh 4-0-16-1, S Arvind 4-0-31-0, Kiran Kumar PH 4-0-40-1, Umesh Kharvi 3-0-29-1, Udit Patel 3-0-31-1, R Jonathan 2-0-22-2.

MANGALORE UNITED: Bharath Chipli (run out) 25; Rohit Sabarwal st Aiyappa b Manager 51; Jonathan Rongsen c Sagar b Manoj 14; Udit Patel c Kazi b Manager 9; Nikhil Haldipur lbw Manoj 0;Vijay Chavan c Manjunath b Raghavendra 30; S Arvind b Sagar 19; Mohammad Khan c Manoj b Raghavendra 2; Kiran Kumar (not out) 2; Umesh Kharvi (not out) 1; Extras (B-1, LB-3, NB-2, W-2) 8; Total (for 8 wickets, 20 overs) 161

Fall of wickets: 1-59, 2-86, 3-104, 4-104, 5-105, 6-142, 7-151, 8-157

Bowling: Aditya Sagar 4-0-21-1, KH Manoj 3-0-32-2, C Raghavendra 3-0-21-2, Abrar Kazi 3-0-28-0, Chetan William 4-0-30-0, Shoaib Manager 2-0-16-2, C Raghu 1-0-9-0.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily