Yesteryear greats honoured by AIFF

Yesteryear greats honoured by AIFF

The All India Football Federation honoured living members of the 1962 Asian Games gold medal winning squad during its Platinum Jubilee function here, which also saw the unveiling of technical director Rob Baan’s masterplan.

It was a grand gathering graced by former greats. However, some of the members of the 1951 Asian Games gold medal winning squad as well as some members of the 1962 squad could not make it due to health reasons.

Bangalore’s T Shanmugam, who was also expected to take part in the proceedings, missed out on the event due to the apathy of organisers.

The midfielder, who was part of the Indian team at the 1952 Helsinki Olympics and the gold-winning team at the 1951 Asian Games, celebrated his 93rd birthday recently and has been in poor shape the past couple of months.

Family members of the former Mysore captain said they had asked the AIFF to consider flying the Olympian and one member of the family to the event by business class due to health reasons. But no reply came from the federation.

Two other players from Karnataka -- Ethiraj and Arumainayagam -- were present. Chuni Goswami, the captain of the 1962 squad, along with PK Banerjee, Prodyut Burman, Prasanta Sinha, Franco and Afzal were present on the occasion.

AIFF president Praful Patel presented a silver plaque and a shawl to each one of them.
Speaking on behalf of the yesteryear greats, Goswami said: “I’m overwhelmed by the reception. I thank AIFF for this. The 1962 Asian Games will forever be etched in memory as golden days of Indian football.”

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)