Summary revision of electoral rolls from Oct 1

Summary revision of electoral rolls from Oct 1

The exercise will take place in 178 Assembly constituencies in the State, excluding Bangalore

The Election Commission of India will start a special summary revision of electoral rolls from October 1 in 178 Assembly constituencies in the State, excluding 28 Assembly constituencies in Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike and some urban pockets.

Addressing a press conference in Bangalore on Saturday, Special Officer (Elections) R Manoj said the copies of the draft electoral rolls will be available at the jurisdictional polling stations, office of deputy commissioners, assistant commissioners and tahsildars.

The draft rolls can also be accessed at the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (OCEO), Karnataka website - Citizens can apply for additions, deletion, correction of names with their electoral registration officer concerned. The number of applications received in every Assembly constituency would be updated on the OCEO website on a daily basis, Manoj said. 

Eligible citizens can submit their applications online by logging on to http:/­/v­ot­er­reg.­ Voters can also know the status of their enrolment by sending SMS -  KA (EPIC number) to 92433 55223. The final electoral rolls will be published on January 5.

There will be special campaigns by booth level agents of political parties on the electoral roll enrolment drive on October 7, 14 and 21 (all Sundays). Manoj said the drive in 28 Assembly constituencies in BBMP limits and 18 other Assembly constituencies will be taken up on a later date.

The 18 constituencies include Davangere North, Davangere South, Chamundeshwari, Krishnaraja, Chamaraja, Narasimharaja, Mangalore North, Mangalore South, Bellary, Bellary City, Gulbarga South, Gulbarga North, Belgaum North, Belgaum South, Dharwad, Hubli-Dharwad East, Hubli-Dharwad Central and Hubli-Dharwad West.