Sunrisers unveil new team logo

The Sun Group, which acquired the earstwhile IPL side Deccan Chargers, unveiled the name and the logo — an eagle soaring high, looking into the core of a rising Sun. Kalanithi Maran and Chennai-based Sun TV Network own the team, which has been rechristened Sunrisers.

Present at the glittering ceremony were former India captain Krishnamachari Srikkanth, who will be the mentor and strategic analyst, coach Tom Moody and Chief Executive Officer Shanmugam.

The team management will have some local flavour with former cricketer VVS Laxman as the mentor and brand ambassador.

While Laxman could not attend the function, former players Shivlal Yadav and Venkatpathi Raju and top officials of Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA) were present.
Sunrisers have retained 20 players of Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Cameron White, Dale Steyn, Chris Lynn, Jean-Paul Duminy, Juan Theron, Abhishek Jhunjunwala, Akash Bhandari, Akshath Reddy, Amit Mishra, Anand Rajan, Ankit Sharma, Bharat Chipli, Biplab Sama­ntray, Shikhar Dha­wan, Veer Pratap Singh, Parthiv Patel, Ashish Reddy, DB Ravi Teja and Ishant Sharma.

Comments (+)