Congress leads in Arunachal, set to sweep

Congress leads in Arunachal, set to sweep

Polling took place for 57 seats Oct 13 after three candidates were declared elected unopposed. They included Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and two more Congress members, Tsewang Dhondup and Jambey Tashi.

According to latest trends and results, Wangi Lowang of the Congress defeated his nearest Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) rival by 2,693 votes in Namsang constituency.
Tapang Taloh of the Congress won the Pangin seat by 2,781 votes defeating NCP's Kaling Jerang. Another Congress winner was Karikho Kri.

Trends available from 10 seats indicated that the Congress candidates were forging ahead.
Voting for the 60-member assembly took place Oct 13 with some 72 percent of the 750,000 voters exercising their franchise.

A total of 154 candidates were in the fray, with the Congress fielding candidates in all the 60 seats.

Apart from the Congress, the NCP fielded 36 candidates, the Bharatiya Janata Party 22 and the Trinamool Congress 26.