Party make up changes in the three Assembly constituencies

Results pronounce fate of political parties
Last Updated 11 March 2013, 18:38 IST

Results of the 65 wards under the limits of three Assembly constituencies - Krishnaraja, Chamaraja and Narasimharaja have pronounced the fate of both the political parties and its candidates.

Krishnaraja constituency with 20 wards is represented by Medical Education Minister S A Ramdas. In the previous polls, BJP had won 14 seats in the constituency. This time around, BJP could manage to retain only eight seats, which comes as a major setback for Ramdas.

Congress, which had won four seats in the previous polls, has increased its count to seven.
Going by the results, Congress is expected to provide neck and neck competition to the constituency represented by S A Ramdas in the upcoming assembly elections.

The KJP and BSR Congress too have opened their accounts in the constituency.
MLA H S Shankarlingegowda from BJP is representing Chamaraja constituency (20 wards) who has now identified with the JD(S). In the previous polls, the JD(S) had recorded victory in nine wards. It has upped its numbers by one more seat.

The Congress has bagged eight seats in the constituency, while the BJP was successful in winning in only one ward.


MLA Tanveer Sait from Congress represents Narasimharaja constituency, which has 25 wards. The Congress had won in 15 wards in the previous elections, which has now drastically reduced to seven seats. The constituency, a stronghold of the Congress, suffered a setback by losing eight wards, while JD(S), SDPI and rebel candidates capitalised on the party’s loss.

The results announced on Monday has shifted the equilibrium of three constituencies in the city. While results of Krishnaraja constituency was a set back for BJP, the results in Narasimharaja have shocked the members of Congress.

(Published 11 March 2013, 18:38 IST)

Follow us on