Yusuf spurs West Zone past South

Yusuf spurs West Zone past South

Yusuf Pathan continued his fine run in the limited-over format as his fiery half-century helped West Zone crush South by five wickets to enter the final of the Deodhar Trophy.

West will now take on North Zone in Wednesday’s summit clash.
Put into bat, South made 258 for five in their stipulated 50 overs riding on half-centuries from Stuart Binny (65) and Sachin Baby (58).

In reply, West knocked off the runs in 41.1 overs courtesy Yusuf’s 53-ball-68. The India discard hit eight boundaries and two mighty sixes -- one each of offie Baba Aparajith and left-arm spinner B Sudhakar.

This is his third consecutive 60-plus score having scored a century and a half-century in the successive matches in Vijay Hazare one day meet.

SOUTH ZONE: KL Rahul b Munaf 10, Hanuma Vihari b Nayar 23, Baba Aparajith c Dhurv b Unadkat 6, Dinesh Kaarthick lbw Makvana 45, CM Gautam c Makvana b Nayar 14, Sachin Baby st Parthiv b Dhurv 58, Stuart (run out) 65, R Vinay Kumar c Makvana b Munaf 4, Abhimanyu Mithun (not out) 5. Extras (B-1, LB-5, W-21, NB-1) 28. Total (for 8 wkts, 50 overs) 258.

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-38, 3-61, 4-98, 5-143, 6-230, 7-245, 8-258.
Bowling: Munaf Patel 10-1-48-2, Jaydev Unadkat 12-1-49-1, Abhishek Nayar 7-0-49-2, Rakesh Dhurv 10-0-47-1, Kamlesh Makvana 10-1-55-1, Yusuf Pathan 1-0-4-0.

WEST ZONE: Vijay Zol c Aparajith b Vinay 75, Parthiv Patel c Binny b Mithun 14, Manprit Juneja lbw Vinay 1, Ambati Rayudu c Gautam b Sudhakar 31, Yusuf Pathan c Aparajith b Mithun 68, Kedar Jadhav (not out) 56, Abhishek Nayar (not out) 10. Extras (LB-2, W-2) 4. Total (for 5 wkts, 41.1 overs) 259.

Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-26, 3-97, 4-163, 5-221.
Bowling: R Vinay Kumar 8-1-50-2, Abhimanyu Mithun 8-0-45-2, Baba Aparajith 5.1-0-32-0, Sandeep Warrier 6-0-38-0, Stuart Binny 3-0-14-0, Bodavarapu Sudhakar 10-0-76-1, Sachin Baby 1-0-2-0.