Lankan test awaits India

Lankan test awaits India

Kohli & Co need to beat SL to stand a chance to qualify for final

Lankan test awaits India

India will have to play to their potential when they meet Sri Lanka in their last must-win league match here on Tuesday to keep alive their hopes of making it to the final of the tri-nation ODI series.

The Indians, who rediscovered their spark courtesy the crushing win over the West Indies, will seek to keep the momentum going in to the crucial game against the Lankans, who will be equally determined to secure a berth in the final.

It is a must-win situation for the Indians but they have a slight edge over Sri Lanka as the Islanders would not get any rest as rain-forced postponement of their game against the West Indies to be completed on Monday.

On the flip side, the Indians will have to wait until Tuesday morning to know the mathematical calculations with regards to the final berth given that all three teams are in with a chance.

The West Indies-Sri Lanka match, which was into its 20th over, had to be postponed to the reserve day after rain halted play.

The Indians have no option but to wait for the result of this game to know exactly what they need to do to enter the final.

After losing two of the three matches they have played so far, Virat Kohli’s men would need to be clear about the maths during the final league clash against the familiar foes.
The last time India and Sri Lanka came face to face, the latter sailed past their neighbours with ease.

But the fatigue factor, which incidentally is also setting in on the clashes between the two South Asian rivals due to the sheer frequency, could prove to be Sri Lanka’s undoing.
The Indians would come into match fresh and on a high after beating the West Indies in their previous game, a win that kept them in the hunt for a final berth.

Kohli provided the spark, after twin debacles in the first leg, with an inspiring hundred that was also his first as captain.

TEAMS (from):

INDIA: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Amit Mishra, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ambati Rayudu, Vinay Kumar.

SRI LANKA: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dilhara Lokuhettige, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis, Kusal Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Shaminda Eranga, Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis, Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox