Govt school students bag prizes in marathon

Govt school students bag prizes in marathon

Sangameshwarpete Government High School bagged prizes in both High School boys and High School girls categories of ‘Late C G Jayakumar memorial road marathon’ held in Chikmagalur on Sunday.

K R Pramod and Bhagyajyothi of Sangameshwarpete Government High School, won the marathon in boys and girls categories respectively.

Sangameshwarapete Poornaprajna School bagged prizes in both Primary School boys and Primary School girls categories while the students of the same school Shrinivas and Prithvika took home the prizes in Higher Primary School boys and Higher primary School girls categories respectively.

Flagging off the marathon at Hanumanthappa circle, MLA C T Ravi told that sports is essential for mental and physical fitness. “Today’s children are running away from naturality and are depending upon the vehicles more,” he said. “National sportsman and coach late C G Jayakumar was a talented sportsman. His demise is a great loss to the world of sports.

The move by his family members to organise a sports event is laudable,” Ravi added.The marathon ended at Azad circle. Senior sports person of the district Dayanada Pai, Narendra Pai, Vijaykumar, Manjunatha and family members of late C G Jayakumar gave away the shield and cash prizes to the winners at a function held at Nethaji Subhashchandra Bose district playground.

District Congress President M L Murthy inaugurated the race at Mountain View  School premises.

Comments (+)