2 CRPF personnel killed, 12 injured in Chhattisgarh Maoist attack

Two Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel, including a deputy commandant, were killed and at least 12 others sustained critical injuries in a landmine blast triggered by Maoists in Sukma district in Chhattisgarh on Sunday morning.

The incident took place when a joint squad of the CRPF, its specialised unit Commando Battalion for Resolute Action (COBRA) and the district police personnel was carrying out an anti-Maoist operation in a forest near Bodhrajpadar village under Bhejji police station area of Bastar region.

After triggering the landmine blast, Maoists opened fire on the security personnel. They, however, retreated as the security forces retaliated and began to encircle them, Sukma additional superintendent of police Neeraj Chandrakar said.

The joint squad, which was engaged in a week-long combing operation, fell victim to the nefarious design of the members of the banned Communist Party of India-Maoist. The CRPF personnel who were killed in the blast were later identified as Deputy Commandant Nihal Alam, a native of Bihar, and constable Rajiv Rawat, a native of West Bengal. Both of them belonged to the 219 Battalion of the CRPF.

“Two of our personnel, including a deputy commandant-level officer, have been killed. The entire operation was being led by senior officers,” the Press Trust of India quoted CRPF Inspector General (Operations) H S Sidhu as saying.

Among those twelve security personnel who sustained injuries in the blast were eight CRPF officials, including one of the deputy commandant rank and four policemen of the state, he added.

As the evacuation process was initiated, two helicopters were sent to airlift the injured jawans from the spot. They were admitted to various hospitals in Raipur for treatment. 

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0